Our historic 9-hole golf course is one of the oldest in the country. Around since the start of the 20th century, the Golf Club merged with the Washington Club in 1914. It is located at the end of Golf Course Road, just off Wykeham Road and provides an idyllic setting for a round of golf. The golf course's pristine grounds are nestled in the Litchfield Hills and provide our members and their guests a challenging yet tranquil 9 or 18-hole round of golf from early spring to late autumn.
The early development of the Golf Section was largely influenced by the thoughts and generosity of Mrs. Richard S. Barnes and of Mr. Alfred S. Bourne. In 1962, Paul Bruning purchased and gave to the Club twenty-seven acres of land adjacent to the present 4th fairway. In 1963, ten additional acres were purchased by thirty-four Club members and given to expand the golf course.